Skip to product information
1 of 3


25 Melodious & Progressive Studies For The Guitar (Matteo Carcassi)

25 Melodious & Progressive Studies For The Guitar (Matteo Carcassi)

Regular price $9.95
Regular price Sale price $9.95
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
25 Melodious and Progressive Pieces for Guitar (Carcassi)

25 Studies, Op. 60 is a set of etudes for the classical guitar, written by Matteo Carcassi. The etudes serve as a bridge between the elementary and advanced intermediate stages of the discipline, and are based on simple harmonic structures. They contain many of the fundamental elements upon which guitar technique rests, for example, arpeggios, slurs, barres, etc.[1] Each study attends to the treatment of a particular technical challenge. The etudes also accustom a pupil to various tempos and the various positions on the guitar.

This is not only an excellent book for Classical and Spanish finger-style guitarists, but also for any contemporary guitarist aspiring to a higher level of playing.

Carcassi wrote a method for guitar (Op. 59), first published with Schott in Mainz, in 1836. It is still valuable, relevant and interesting. His most famous works are collected in his 25 Études, Op. 60. In these, he managed to blend technical skills with musicality and brilliant Romantic music. This is the reason his music is still played by so many classical guitarists today.
View full details